Ali (2001)

Story

This is a biography of Muhammad Ali, one of the greatest boxers of all time, and a source of inspiration on and off the ring. When Ali refused army induction, he became an icon for the fight for civil rights; religious freedom and racial justice.

Αυτή είναι η βιογραφία του Μοχάμεντ Αλί, ενός από τους μεγαλύτερους μποξέρ όλων των εποχών και πηγή έμπνευσης εντός και εκτός ρινγκ. Η άρνησή του να καταταγεί στον πόλεμο του Βιετνάμ τον ανέδειξε σε πολιτικό σύμβολο ενάντια στις θρησκευτικές αλλά και φυλετικές διακρίσεις.

Columbia Pictures, Inc.

Will Smith as Muhammad Ali © 2001 Columbia Pictures

Review

The boxing scenes are engaging even if not a fan of the sport. Will Smith, in perhaps one of his best performances, is convincing as Ali and Jon Voight in the role of sportscaster Howard Cosell is a treat. Both got nominated for Oscar.

Οι σκηνές των αγώνων είναι συναρπαστικές και για κάποιον που δεν είναι φαν του αθλήματος. Ο Γουίλ Σμιθ, ίσως σε μία από τις καλύτερες ερμηνείες του, είναι πειστικός ως Αλί, και ο Γιον Βόιτ ως σπορτκάστερ Χάουαντ Κοσέλ είναι απολαυστικός. Και οι δύο ήταν υποψήφιοι για Όσκαρ.

Favorite Quote

I ain’t going no 10,000 miles to help murder and kill other poor people. If I want to die, I’ll die right here, right now, fightin’ you, if I want to die. You my enemy, not no Chinese, no Vietcong, no Japanese. You my opposer when I want freedom. You my opposer when I want justice. You my opposer when I want equality. Want me to go somewhere and fight for you? You won’t even stand up for me right here in America, for my rights and my religious beliefs. You won’t even stand up for my right here at home.

 -Muhammad Ali

Starring: Will Smith, Jon Voight, Jamie Foxx, Ron Silver, Jada Pinkett Smith, Michael Michele, Malick Bowens

Written by: Gregory Allen Howard (story) , Stephen J. Rivele, Christopher Wilkinson, Eric Roth and Michael Mann

Directed by: Michael Mann

Leave a Reply

