Smother (2007)

Story

Noah Cooper (Dax Shepard), married to Clare (Liv Tyler), has to deal with getting fired from his job, his wife’s maternal clock ticking and his suffocating mother Marilyn (Diane Keaton) and her five dogs moving in with them.

Ο Νόα Κούπερ (Νταξ Σέπαρντ), παντρεμένος με την Κλαιρ (Λιβ Τάιλερ), έχει να αντιμετωπίσει την απόλυσή του, το βιολογικό ρολόι μητρότητας της γυναίκας του και την καταπιεστική μητέρα του Μέριλιν (Ντάιαν Κίτον) που μαζί με τους πέντε σκύλους της ήρθε να μείνει μαζί τους.

Dax_Shepard_in_Smother_Wallpaper_1_1280

Diane Keaton and Dax Shepard © 2007 Scion Films

Review

The movie is supposed to be a hilarious comedy, but it is laugh-free. Diane Keaton is the only reason to watch it. Her performance is not comic, but at least she is real, first as intrusive mother and then as a person in a mid-life crisis. It makes you wonder why such a talented actress would produce and play in a predictable movie, suitable for airline showings.

Η ταινία υποτίθεται ότι είναι ξεκαρδιστική κωμωδία, αλλά δεν γελάς. Η Ντάιαν Κίτον είναι ο μόνος λόγος να την δεις. Η ερμηνεία της δεν είναι αστεία, αλλά τουλάχιστον είναι αληθινή, πρώτα σαν καταπιεστική μητέρα και μετά σαν μεσήλικας με κρίση ταυτότητας. Σε κάνει να αναρωτιέσαι γιατί μία ταλαντούχα ηθοποιός θα ήταν παραγωγός αλλά και πρωταγωνίστρια σε μία προβλέψιμη ταινία, κατάλληλη για προβολές στις πτήσεις.

Favorite Quote

Hey, you wanna be mad at me? I’m mad at me, too. I spent my life trying to do what was right for everyone else, trying to be who I was expected to be, except the real me wasn’t the person I ended up becoming and now I am sixty?! [pause]

And the only thing that’s saved me in my whole life is you [her son]. When I look at you, my life matters. I talk to you and I feel good. So if I needed you more than you needed me and that was too much to bear, then I’m terribly sorry, but sweetie, you’re my son. And until you have one of your own, you cannot imagine the extraordinary person who is going to come out of your own imperfections.

– Marilyn Cooper

Starring: Diane Keaton, Dax Shepard, Liv Tyler

Written by: Tim Rasmussen, Vince Di Meglio

Directed by: Vince Di Meglio

Leave a Reply

